Medda releases Fission EP, featuring Björn “Speed” Strid, Mattias IA Eklundh, Bears Among Men, and more

October 9, 2020

On October 9, 2020, Medda released its fourth effort, Fission, a four-song melodic metal EP featuring vocals from Björn “Speed” Strid, Bears Among Men, and Ralph Lee, and guitar solos from Mattias IA Eklundh and Robby Hardin. What sets this EP apart from Medda’s previous releases is the addition of vocals—a first for the typically instrumental solo project.

Medda began as frontman Robert Pessagno’s avenue for releasing songs that didn’t quite fit within the other bands or projects he’s been involved in. Although focusing primarily on instrumental melodic metal, Medda has always been seen as an “anything goes” project, which certainly extends to having vocals. It wasn’t until the beginning of 2020 that Robert had the opportunity to work with some of metal’s most talented musicians (famous or not) to produce a high-energy release that spans across death metal, thrash metal, deathcore, and industrial metal genres.

The theme of Fission is separation—releasing yourself from the toxic people, entities, and ways of thinking that pollute your mind and the way you view the world in order to progress as a human. This “fission” can result in a fiery explosion of disagreements and major life choices that leave behind scars, but allows for new beginnings and positive growth.

This EP is also an ode to the melodic death metal of the mid-2000s. The decade had an explosion of albums that seemed to define the sound of bands like Soilwork, In Flames, Disarmonia Mundi, Scar Symmetry, Meshuggah, and Darkane, to name a few. This era of metal is significant because it was and remains Robert’s biggest influence in crafting the music of Medda. And things have finally come full circle with one of the most prominent leaders in this realm providing vocals on the title track—Soilwork’s Björn Strid.

Although Medda is Robert Pessagno’s solo project, Fission is undoubtedly a group effort, coming to life with the help of the many guest musicians. The EP is available now on all streaming platforms and for download on Bandcamp.

Track list:

  1. Fission (feat. Björn “Speed” Strid and Robby Hardin)
  2. Nail Biter (feat. Bears Among Men)
  3. Cognitive Dissonance (feat. Ralph Lee and Mattias IA Eklundh)
  4. Out for Blood